Korean Makeup Rampage


As much as I love drug store finds, sometimes that best things in life come from… Korea. After finally watching The Interview on Netflix, I got a hankering to indulge in some Korean-made products. Yes, I know it makes no sense… but you try to think of a reason I went on a Korea makeup kick because I’m still trying to figure it out too.

First up, we have IPKN Twinkle Lips in Glow Pink. I tried the Glow Coral too, but I’m more of a pink girl when it comes to my kissers. What makes this awesome is that it’s a mystery color other than it being some variation on pink. The chemicals in the gloss-like lipstick change based on your individual body chemistry to give you a perfect shade for you. I have no clue how it works and it’s possibly a vast conspiracy to see specific DNA snippets reflected in varying hues of pink on our lips, but really, I think it’s a gimmick that works.

ipkn_twinklelips_glowpink_open_900x900

I loved the pink shade and while it’s a thick, moisture-filled stick that really feels close to chapstick, it is a sheer color that doesn’t bleed or come on too strong. I love this so much that I’ve bought it twice now. And, I never buy anything twice usually.

Now that we have the lips covered, let’s visit the eyes.

Too Cool for School is an awesome brand that gives you a fun experience merely opening the package as well as providing an awesome end product. The Too Cool for School Dinoplatz Escalator Mascara is definitely one of their best. I have to admit though, it took me nearly thirty minutes to figure out how to get in the package to the mascara. It was an adorable package that was super fun to mess with and I saved it to somehow use with the kids’ Christmas presents next year. It was just too nifty to simply toss in the trash.

tcfs-dinoplatz-escalator-mascara

Oh, and it only comes in black. None of this brown, brown-black, and other color nonsense. They seem to agree with my theory that all mascaras should be simple and bold. The brush was surprising. It doesn’t look like it would work at all – short, almost nonexistent bristles. But,… it works! Between this one and Smashbox’s Full Exposure Mascara, it’s hard to pick a favorite.

Oh my God…. I was just looking up the mascara on Sephora’s website and I’ve made a discovery. There is a dial on the end that lets you change the length of the bristles.  Now, I feel stupid. Ok, that’s just another reason to totally love this product.

Ok, last Korean-fueled makeup rampage (rampage! Now, I’m channeling Archer, apparently)….

35y9qp

Ok, back on track…TONYMOLY Pas-l225nda’s Dream Brightening Eye Base is awesome enough in that it looks like a panda. Adorable, right? Well, it’s this white smudgy stuff that actually manages to cover the under eye circles of this severely sleep-deprived momma. I just smoosh a little one and it blends out fairly easily. It feels great – not to thick or oiley or annoying, just leaves a paler tone in its wake.

To keep on the movie theme and be completely culturally unaware, I’m going to reference a movie that is not Korean, but was made in Hong Kong, but considering the extremes the characters go to for youth and beauty, I’m going to allow it.

So, still needing a beauty fix, go on over to Netflix and watch Dumplings. You’ll be scarred for life and probably hate me for making the suggestion, but everyone loves a train wreck.

dumplings_film

Leave a Reply

